A Personal Introduction

I was born on August 18, 1950 at village Tarar (District: Bhagalpur, Bihar) as the second son and 7th child of my parents, Smt. Tara Devi and Shri Anant Mishra. Until 1963, I was taught Sanskrit by my father and was not sent to any school, although there was a primary as well as a secondary school in my village. In 1963, I attended the high school (High School, Tarar) for the first time and my formal education started. I passed matriculation (secondary school examination) in 1965 and was admitted to Marwari College at Bhagalpur wherefrom I did my BA (Economics Honours) in 1970. In 1972, I did my MA (Economics) from Bhagalpur University. After having done my MA I searched for a job for over two years but could not find one. In 1975 I went to IIT, Kharagpur for doing MRP (Master of Regional Planning), which I completed in 1977. I continued at IIT, Kaharagpur and joined research for PhD. My PhD was completed in 1982, but before its completion I joined the Department of Architecture and Regional Planning, IIT, Kharagpur as a Lecturer.

After completing three years as Lecturer at IIT, Kharagpur, I left the institution in 1984 to join as Reader in the Department of Economics at North-Eastern Hill University (NEHU), Shillong, Meghalaya. At NEHU I became Professor of Economics in 1991. At NEHU I taught statistics, econometrics, mathematics, economic thought, microeconomics, evolutionary economics and techniques of analysis and computer programming. In addition to teaching, I supervised many MPhil and PhD scholars. I headed the Department of Economics at NEHU for three terms and I also was the Dean of the School of Economics, Management and Information sciences. In 2010 I was promoted as Professor (HAG or Higher Administrative Grade) at NEHU. I retired in 2015 at the age of 65. Overall, I contributed over a hundred of papers and a few methods of analysis to my profession.

I live in Delhi with my wife, Mrs. Manisha Mishra and my children - two sons, yes, only two sons, and a daughter and their spouses - and my sweet grand-children that I begot from them. I continue to be interested in reading (mostly economic theory, philosophy, psychology and literature including autobiographical works) and doing some research, mainly for self-satisfaction and keeping myself busy. Occasionally, I visit Tarar, my village, to look after my house there at my ancestral place and keep myself connected with my relatives.